9Xtreme Iris+ next steps?

thcmm

9Xtreme Iris+ next steps?

Post by thcmm »

Dear Community,
I now have the 9Xtreme upgrade board installed in the modded version of the FS-TH9X TX that came with my 3D Robotics Iris+ the LCD lights, sticks, pots, switches seem to work in the diag screen, and Voltage was spot on when checked against a multi-meter.

Now what? :?

Warning: I am a Newbie to the er9X world of tweaks and apologise if I am asking seemingly mundane questions that may or may not have already been asked or are simply assumed to be known.

Before I get into my main concern….”have a broken the stock functionality of my Iris+?”

For starters, I read through the new manual. Its awesome, advanced and well written but I still have questions relating more so the 9Xtreme upgrade board that are not directly addressed in the manual.

The SD card for example. Should it be formatted with a particular file system or is the usual Fat32 FS just the assumed norm? I saw the little light-bulb pop-up on the SmartieParts website - so I assume any capacity size, speed SD will do?

VoicePack:
I have read several posts about the voice pack files but I remain uncertain about how / when / where to copy the contents of the zip file to the SD card. Should they be copied to the SD prior to installing it in the slot on the 9Xtreme board? Which of the 2 partitions should they be installed onto (ok the first is too small - but an explanation would still be nice) Why are there 2 partitions and when is the second created?

Iris+ stock functionality:
There are several threads on the forum that begin asking questions about which firmware to use with the Iris+, they mainly refer to OpenTX - the discussions then dive into lengthy GPL infraction issues and there is no clear answer about which firmware to use. The consensus seems to be that 3DR modified the original open-source code, did not acknowledge, got nasty community feedback and later posted a version on GIT.