ErskyTx on X20

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

I'm trying to work out what is wrong. It seems there is a problem reading and writing data on the SD card. Screenshot files are being created, but no data is being written or not all the data.
Also, radio and model settings are also on the SD card and they are not being written either.
I'll see if I have a larger capacity card I can try to see if that is the problem, I have mostly 4Gb and 8Gb cards.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Thu May 26, 2022 8:48 am I'm trying to work out what is wrong. It seems there is a problem reading and writing data on the SD card. Screenshot files are being created, but no data is being written or not all the data.
Also, radio and model settings are also on the SD card and they are not being written either.
I'll see if I have a larger capacity card I can try to see if that is the problem, I have mostly 4Gb and 8Gb cards.

Mike
I have an SD Verbatim 16GB.
I don't think it will be the size. HW can not be preset for slow writing as changes are not saved.
Last edited by jurajjurej on Fri May 27, 2022 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

I'll try a faster 32 GB card.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

Are your radio settings being saved? Things like volume, brightness, screen colours?
I'm writing some code to test the SD reading/writing.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

A test you could try is to makes some changes to a model, then select a different model (which should force the first model to be saved), then select the first model again, then power off and on and see if the changes have been saved.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 12:29 pm Are your radio settings being saved? Things like volume, brightness, screen colours?
I'm writing some code to test the SD reading/writing.

Mike
Something changes (saves) something after switching off.
Color, brightness -Yes.
screanshot -ne switch
Adjust volume (S1) -no
Mixi -nie
Model name - no
Alarm volume -Yes (but don't hear)
The welcome sound does not work.

If I set model2 and return the selection to model1. The model1 settings are cleared. It is renamed Model 01
Last edited by jurajjurej on Mon May 30, 2022 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 12:29 pm Are your radio settings being saved? Things like volume, brightness, screen colours?
I'm writing some code to test the SD reading/writing.

Mike
Something changes (saves) something after switching off.
Color, brightness -Yes.
screanshot -ne switch
Adjust volume (S1) -no
Mixi -nie
Model name - no
Alarm volume -Yes (but don't hear)
The welcome sound does not work.

If I set model2 and return the selection to model1. The model1 settings are cleared. It is renamed Model 01
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

I've tried three SD cards. (1GB, 16GB, 32GB of various speeds)
The issue with saving changes has not been fixed. Neither sound works nor screanshot.
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Sun May 29, 2022 8:45 pm A test you could try is to makes some changes to a model, then select a different model (which should force the first model to be saved), then select the first model again, then power off and on and see if the changes have been saved.

Mike
Yes, that's how the changes were written.
And now they are enrolled without switching models. (forced enrollment)
I'm still going to test different settings.
Does the "Welcome" sound not work? No alarms
No sound.
The screenshot is already working. It would be better if it was saved in the "screenshot" folder.
20140515_134829.jpg
20140515_134829.jpg (71.31 KiB) Viewed 57686 times
Last edited by jurajjurej on Mon May 30, 2022 8:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

What files are in the "RADIO" directory on the SD card and what are the last modified dates?

Please confirm there is a file "\Voice\system\WELCOME.wav" on the SD card.

I should have a special test version that may help locating your problems ready tomorrow.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Mon May 30, 2022 6:20 pm What files are in the "RADIO" directory on the SD card and what are the last modified dates?

Please confirm there is a file "\Voice\system\WELCOME.wav" on the SD card.

I should have a special test version that may help locating your problems ready tomorrow.

Mike
The last adjustment is, of course, today. It miraculously records the changes. (helped test with forced save)
Previously, the "RADIO" folder was empty! Sounds don't work
SD card:
Attachments
welcome.png
(78.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet
RADIO.png
(48.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

Do you have any audio output at all? I assume you have the volume set above 0, and the bar showing the current volume setting has some black in it on the status line at the bottom of the main screen.
You should get some beeps if you change the trim settings with the trim switches.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
Narcis
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2022 1:52 pm
Country: Spain
Location: Barcelona

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by Narcis »

Hi Mike,
I also have no audio output at all, even with trims. Volume set is at maximum: 23.
Audio files are in correct directories.

My X20 is an X20S.

Narcis.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

I'll add a bit more debug to the test version I'm doing to try to locate the audio problem. It is working fine for me!

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

I've posted a test version. This has a SD menu in "Statistics".
The cluster size is shown at the top. We would like to see 32 here.
There is a column of 6 values under "Debug". These are filled in with results from the voice task as it runs.
If you don't have any voice or other audio output, please let me know what these 6 values are.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 10:00 pm Do you have any audio output at all? I assume you have the volume set above 0, and the bar showing the current volume setting has some black in it on the status line at the bottom of the main screen.
You should get some beeps if you change the trim settings with the trim switches.

Mike
I have a volume added. You can see it in the picture. And set to 25.
Trimmers don't beep.
Attachments
P5270594.JPG
P5270594.JPG (79.17 KiB) Viewed 57562 times
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 10:39 pm I've posted a test version. This has a SD menu in "Statistics".
The cluster size is shown at the top. We would like to see 32 here.
There is a column of 6 values under "Debug". These are filled in with results from the voice task as it runs.
If you don't have any voice or other audio output, please let me know what these 6 values are.

Mike
After upgrading to the test version "r12", the screenshot did not work and then after restarting the SD card (system) crashed.
Here is the photo:
SD-Error.png
(64.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
P6030627.JPG
P6030627.JPG (67.7 KiB) Viewed 57552 times
P6030629.JPG
P6030629.JPG (74.26 KiB) Viewed 57552 times
P6030630.JPG
P6030630.JPG (71.7 KiB) Viewed 57550 times
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

Screenshots:
Attachments
screen-2022-06-03-080901.png
screen-2022-06-03-080901.png (11.79 KiB) Viewed 57543 times
screen-2022-06-03-080825.png
screen-2022-06-03-080825.png (10.66 KiB) Viewed 57543 times
screen-2022-06-03-080735.png
screen-2022-06-03-080735.png (8.46 KiB) Viewed 57543 times
screen-2022-06-03-075559.png
screen-2022-06-03-075559.png (15.78 KiB) Viewed 57543 times
screen-2022-06-03-075516.png
screen-2022-06-03-075516.png (17.67 KiB) Viewed 57543 times
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

The idle alarm can be seen on the voice indicator that it has activated.
Alarm.mp4
(5.17 MiB) Downloaded 127 times
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

Your Cluster Size is 8. This means storage is allocated 8K at a time, not the 32K I would like to see.
There is a File Allocation Table (FAT) on the card (usually two of them). Each entry to this is a 32-bit (4-byte) value, so 128 fit in a 512-byte sector.
Having only 8K Cluster Size means the FAT is 4 times larger than with 32K Cluster Size, and so requires many more reads and writes to access a file and to find unused space when writing. This reduces the performance.

I would suggest reformatting a SD card with a 32K Cluster size. It is recommended to use the card formatter software provided by the SD Association as this will use the correct Cluster Size. I use the program SDFormatter.exe (for Windows) from them.

I'm checking the debug information next. This is showing some errors.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

No voice file can be confirmed (selected)
Attachments
screen-2022-06-03-133554.png
screen-2022-06-03-133554.png (11.43 KiB) Viewed 57525 times
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 11:40 am Your Cluster Size is 8. This means storage is allocated 8K at a time, not the 32K I would like to see.
There is a File Allocation Table (FAT) on the card (usually two of them). Each entry to this is a 32-bit (4-byte) value, so 128 fit in a 512-byte sector.
Having only 8K Cluster Size means the FAT is 4 times larger than with 32K Cluster Size, and so requires many more reads and writes to access a file and to find unused space when writing. This reduces the performance.

I would suggest reformatting a SD card with a 32K Cluster size. It is recommended to use the card formatter software provided by the SD Association as this will use the correct Cluster Size. I use the program SDFormatter.exe (for Windows) from them.

I'm checking the debug information next. This is showing some errors.

Mike

I'll try.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

A short press of ENTER should play the highlighted voice file, a LONG press should select it.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

Formatting SD didn't help much
Fixed to SD 32 clusters.
But no sound and no radio settings or model settings are recorded.
Attachments
P6040633.JPG
P6040633.JPG (75.6 KiB) Viewed 57493 times
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 1:49 pm A short press of ENTER should play the highlighted voice file, a LONG press should select it.

Mike
Does not work.
Short click to go to file name (keyboard)
A long press does not select the VAW file and remains empty.
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

Not created "RADIO" folder. "RADIO" not SD card content?
Unable to save current SD card content for ErskyTX and "Voice" at http://www.er9x.com/
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

I'm just creating a better debug system to help here.
I think there may be two types of main board (is your radio a X20 or X20S?), with slightly different connections to the processor. One of these may be an enable signal to the audio amplifier, I'm checking this out.

I can download the SD contents from er9x.com OK, are you having trouble with that, or with writing this to the SD card?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17978
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by MikeB »

I've posted a new test version. In the "Statistics" area is a new menu labelled "REPORT". This contains text of debug information, up to 100 lines. When this menu shows, press ENTER to stop the screen index flashing (6/8?), then the encoder will scroll the text.

This text should indicate what is happening when reading/creating the RADIO directory, and also when playing a voice file.
There is also a change where I detect an input indicating the board type, and I do something different when starting the audio driver depending on the board type.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

Reformatted SD. (Claster 32 OK) Clean install SDtest. Composite creation is already OK. (fast)
If I switch to another model, my name will be deleted to the default Model 01, etc. and lose the settings. Sounds don't work. Once the settings have been saved (background color). Then the radio and model settings are no longer saved.
I don't know what to try anymore. It's still fooling around.
User avatar
jurajjurej
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 23, 2022 6:32 am
Country: Slovakia

Re: ErskyTx on X20

Post by jurajjurej »

MikeB wrote: Sat Jun 04, 2022 8:38 pm I'm just creating a better debug system to help here.
I think there may be two types of main board (is your radio a X20 or X20S?), with slightly different connections to the processor. One of these may be an enable signal to the audio amplifier, I'm checking this out.

I can download the SD contents from er9x.com OK, are you having trouble with that, or with writing this to the SD card?

Mike

I have a Tandem X20 radio.
SD content goes to download OK. I just wanted to know if it's up to date for ErskyTX.
Attachments
P5270594.JPG
P5270594.JPG (79.17 KiB) Viewed 57437 times

Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”