best practice rudder and gyro limit setup (EXI-450-SE)

jbeebo

best practice rudder and gyro limit setup (EXI-450-SE)

Post by jbeebo »

I searched the forum but couldn't find this specific topic. I did find all kinds of useful other stuff though :) Sorry for long post I'm trying to be clear and detailed.

When setting up the rudder servo and gyro limits on a heli, it seems there are multiple means to the same end. I'm new to helis so wanted to run this by the more experienced folks here and make sure I'm not missing something...

Here's the different way's I've tried to setup travel limits of the SG-90 analog rudder servo when run thru a GY48V gyro on an EXI-450-SE heli. Radio is running open9x-r1761. First, I did the following:
1) set the ball 8mm on the servo arm. This is the recommended distance and seems to give +/-45deg of servo travel, which will make for good resolution for the gyro.
2) servo arm 90deg to body when +/-100% limits and 0% subtrim, 0% trim.
3) moved servo on boom to center of tail travel

Now, the model is mechanically setup and centered, so off to set the travel limits! Here's where I see 3 different ways to set the travel extents, and I'm not sure which is best. For each option below, I'm giving numbers for rudder channel "weight" on mixer pg6/11, then plus/minus limits on limits pg7/11, then limit dial setting of GY48V (from 60 to 140). An example:
[tab=30]100, -52, 24, 140 translates to:
[tab=30]rudder channel weight 100% on mixer pg6/11
[tab=30]rudder channel limits -52% to 24% on limits pg7/11
[tab=30]GY48V limit pot set at "140"
option A) use rudder channel limits to define max travel. Settings = 100, -46, 43, 140. This works well and gives full stick travel for full rudder travel.
option B) use rudder channel weight to define max travel. Settings = 43, -100, 100, 140. This works well and gives full stick travel for full rudder travel.