Non invert Attiny 85 led driver.

Need some advice? Trying out a new idea? Fancy a beer?
Join us for some general banter and good times.
ShowMaster

Non invert Attiny 85 led driver.

Post by ShowMaster »

I’ve been asked by a club member to help with a RC landing light attiny85 circuit. It’s a GitHub posted diy.

https://github.com/hasbridge/arduino-rc ... /README.md

I’m still a beginner but was able to burn a bootloader into a Tiny85 and then the sketch, both operations were using my uno and was a success.
I owe that to the help and posts you all have made!

I took it on to further educate myself on flashing bootloaders and programming Arduino.
It works well for what he wants to do, with several pwm output pins driving a led to strobe and one is turned on or off via a ppm input from a receiver (landing lights pin 2).
1ms to 2ms on or off.
The LEDs seem to want to be connected from the output pins to ground.
The issue I’m having is he wants to drive higher current and brighter LEDs. The Attiny85 is only good fro 40ma per output pin, 200ma total.
I’m trying to use a get or transistor as a led driver but it inverts the pulses. My work around was to use 2 transistors to cancel the pulse inversion.
I just can’t seem to get it working. The transistors don’t seem to saturate and it averages the pwm pulses and the brightness and strobe action is compromised.
I have tried a n channel mosFET as the last stage driven by a 3904 with the same results.
1rfz44n is what I have in stock.

Any ideas or tips/circuits would be a big help.
Thank you

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

jhsa

Re: Non invert Attiny 85 led driver.

Post by jhsa »

Drive an N Mosfet directly from the ATtiny pin, or a P channrel Mosfet from an NPN transistor. In this case, base of the transistor to the Microcontroller pin, emitter to ground, and.collector to the Mosfet gate..
Place an 100K resistor between source and gate so the Mosfet can turn off..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials