What firmware to run on a 9XR pro?

Not sure what firmware to use? Making a new firmware? Ask in here!
mikeller

Post by mikeller »

Hey 9XR pro users out there, what firmware are you using on your TX?

There seems to be a bit of a tie between ersky9xr and OpenTX, with the pros and cons of each being (in my opinion):

ersky9xr:

pros:
- good support of the 9XR pro hardware
- some features more advanced than in OpenTX

cons:
- project seems to be stagnant

OpenTx:

pros:
- more advanced features
- some features more advanced than in ersky9xr
- multi platform support
- project under active development

cons:
- project focused on supporting Taranis hardware, 9XR pro and others are just a side show
- most advanced features not implemented for anything but Taranis
- 'multi platform support' done poorly, code is often not reused between platforms

So, what are you guys using? Or am I even overlooking a contender for 'best firmware on 9XR pro'?

Background: I am a 9XR pro user, and I'd like to spend some time improving firmware for this TX, but I really don't know which project is a better choice to spend time on.

jhsa

Re: What firmware to run on a 9XR pro?

Post by jhsa »

I would like you to tell us why do you think the ersky9x project is stagnant? That was the best joke I have read in a lonnng time :mrgreen:
Ersky9x is being developed every day for 5 platforms. Skyboard, 9XR-PRO, Ar9x board, 9Xtreme board and Taranis radio. Nearly every day you can find test versions coming out..
Ersky9x supports extra hardware on most platforms. I currently use on most my radios ( four 9x and a PRO), rotary encoder, replaced ELE switch with 3 position, haptic feedback, taranis sliders, four pushbuttons on the back of the radio, bidirectional trainer over bluetooth between 2 ersky9x radios, and RGB backlight on my 9x with the 9xtreme board. All radios running frsky telemetry of course. Ahhhh, ersky9x fully supports the multi protocol module.. ;)