Another two modules thread. 2.0

Where to find parts? Refactoring your entire transmitter, new cases? Sticks etc..
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa »

That version I used on the video is very old already.. You should flash the latest version.
About setting the arduino IDE and compiling and flashing the multiprotocol code, please follow the link and read the documentation. Things changed a bit :)

https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... g_STM32.md

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: RE: Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

jhsa wrote:That version I used on the video is very old already.. You should flash the latest version.
About setting the arduino IDE and compiling and flashing the multiprotocol code, please follow the link and read the documentation. Things changed a bit :)

https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... g_STM32.md

João
Thanks João! I will read it and try again! [emoji106]

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5X met Tapatalk

Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
ReSt
Posts: 1581
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by ReSt »

MaartenH wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:46 pm
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
exit status 1

I had the same problem that occurred by simply adding or removing a line of code or even a comment.
There obviously is a well known, but never resolved problem in the linker in, at least, arduino 1.8.0 .

You may try the following (it did help for me)

Replacing the two files
\arduino-1.8.0\hardware\tools\avr\avr\bin\ld.exe
\arduino-1.8.0\hardware\tools\avr\avr\bin\ld.bfd.exe

with files from an older version (around 1.6).

I found them in AVR as well as in Yagarto that are installed on my PC
Copying them into the Arduino subdirectory resolved the poblem for me.

Reinhard
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: RE: Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

ReSt wrote:
MaartenH wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:46 pm
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
exit status 1

I had the same problem that occurred by simply adding or removing a line of code or even a comment.
There obviously is a well known, but never resolved problem in the linker in, at least, arduino 1.8.0 .

You may try the following (it did help for me)

Replacing the two files
\arduino-1.8.0\hardware\tools\avr\avr\bin\ld.exe
\arduino-1.8.0\hardware\tools\avr\avr\bin\ld.bfd.exe

with files from an older version (around 1.6).

I found them in AVR as well as in Yagarto that are installed on my PC
Copying them into the Arduino subdirectory resolved the poblem for me.

Reinhard
Thank you also Reinhard for your post! I will try it out.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5X met Tapatalk

Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

About the flashing "Failed" error, I wish I could help you more. I tried and tried and tried until suddenly it worked. I have no idea why it did not work and then worked... Just in case be sure of connecting the wires correctly (check it three or four times if needed) and also when trying to flash check if you have the multiprotocol module as internal (connected to the 9xtreme) or external in the module bay.

With the stock module I had no problem to flash it following Mr Joao´s tutorials. Then I screwed flashing something that I had not to flash and then I started again but downloading the updated software and after trying several times it suddenly worked.
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/

User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

Thanks Rad! I will check everything twice...[emoji3] You are helping a lot this way! I hope In can get to it this weekend.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5X met Tapatalk

Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

Well, I tried to flash the module from my tx but I only get the message 'Failed'...[emoji849]

When I was flashing the bootloader to the module via the FTDI adaptor, the FTDI voltage was set to 5V. Is it possible I fried the module?

When the module is in my tx and I turn the tx on, the red light on the module is blinking fast (I presume that is binding mode?!). Does this mean the module is still working maybe?

What can I do to check the module is still ok?

Thanks in advance for advise.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5X met Tapatalk

Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

If the red LED is blinking, then at least the processor is working OK.
What bootloader did you flash to the module? The STMduino bootloader is for flashing from the USB, not the radio.

In the Arduino IDE, have you used the "boards manager" and installed "Multi 4-in-1 STM32 Board"?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

MikeB wrote: Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:22 pm What bootloader did you flash to the module? The STMduino bootloader is for flashing from the USB, not the radio.

In the Arduino IDE, have you used the "boards manager" and installed "Multi 4-in-1 STM32 Board"?
Hay Mike,

I'm a bit confused. Is it correct if I say that I first have to put a bootloader on the module (with the ability to flash from tx) and after that flash the firmware from the tx to the module? Is the bootloader a different piece of software than the firmware?

This is what I did:
- Flashed the latest ersky9x to my tx
- Put the module in the bay with the BOOT0 jumper on it
- Connected the USB to the FTDI adapter and the PC
- Connected the FTDI adapter on 3,3V
- Downloaded the zip 'DIY-Multiprotocol-TX-Module-master.zip' from master.zip
- Installed Arduino IDE 1.8.5
- Opened the 'Multiprotocol.ino' in Arduino IDE
- Installed the Multi 4-in-1 STM32 Boards in Arduino
- Selected: Tools -> Board select Multi 4-in-1 (STM32FC103)
- Selected: Tools -> Programmer select stm32flash (FTDI)
- Verify the firmware: Sketch -> Verify/Compile -> no errors

After this, I have to "Select an Upload Method" according to the manual.
I choose the 'Upload via Serial'
- Turned the tx on
- Clicked on Sketch -> Upload

But when I think of it: this is not the bootloader I flashed, right. This is the firmware. Am I missing the bootloader at this point?

Thanks for advice (and yes, I'm fairly new to this... :oops: )
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

The bootloader is a different piece of firmware.
Go here: https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... e-firmware, then follow the instruction for "Burn the bootloader".

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

MikeB wrote: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:53 pm The bootloader is a different piece of firmware.
Go here: https://github.com/pascallanger/DIY-Mul ... e-firmware, then follow the instruction for "Burn the bootloader".

Mike
Thanks Mike! Somehow I skipped that step... :roll:

But I flashed the bootloader on the Module via the FTDI adapter.
Then I compiled the multiprotocol.ino sketch to a bin file.
Placed the bin file in the firmware folder of the tx.
Entered maintenance menu and tried to flash the bin file to the module.

Everytime I get the message "Failed" when I try to flash the firmware from the tx to the module.
I know Red had the same issue but he tried it like 30 times and somehow it worked. I'm still getting the 'Failed' message after many tries.. :cry:

What can I do to check if I did something wrong?

When I power on the tx normally, with the module in it, the red led is blinking.

Maarten
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

When you compile in the Arduino IDE, you need the "Upload Method" set to "Flash From Tx".

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

Hay Mike,

I have set it to 'Flash from tx'. I followed the steps again, to see what I could have missed but I think I did everyting right. Still the same error on the tx.

After that I selected the option 'Upload via serial', so I uploaded the firmware via the FTDI adapter to the module.
So the module should be ready to use I think.

I was not able to bind the module to a Cherokee Whoop-95S with a Flysky receiver. I have to bind it to a working Turnigy 9x receiver later this weekend to see if the module is working.

Maarten
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

Double checking that you had the "Upload Method" set to "Flash From Tx", when you flashed the bootloader.

If you have set 'Upload via serial', then flashed the module using the BOOT0 link and a FTDI, then you will have overwritten the bootloader with the application.

Watch the LED on the module when you power up, and then try to bind. It flashes at different rates, or becomes solid, to indicate what it is doing.

When you say you "Flashed the latest ersky9x to my tx", is that the latest release, or the latest test version?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

I finally got some time to try it again to flash the module.
What I did was I flashed the firmware direct to the module. I couldn't get the flashing from the tx to work.

I bound the radio to my whoop and I'm a happy flying indoors..:-)

I have another question: I know that you ,João, use the module as an internal module. You deslodered the USB-port, bind-button, leds and the rotary knob so it has a lower profile.
How do you bind the module to a receiver? Because the bind-button is not there anymore. Can you use the bind modes in the firmware from the tx? I saw a bind-modes there.

Maarten
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by jhsa »

Yes, I bind using the bind option in the Protocol / Multi menu in Ersky9x. No need for the module's bind button.
I also don't need the rotary switch or the USB connector as I flash the module using the radio. The LED was moved from the multi PCB to the back of the radio..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MaartenH
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:35 am
Country: Netherlands

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MaartenH »

jhsa wrote: Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:06 pm Yes, I bind using the bind option in the Protocol / Multi menu in Ersky9x. No need for the module's bind button.
I also don't need the rotary switch or the USB connector as I flash the module using the radio. The LED was moved from the multi PCB to the back of the radio..

João
Thanks for your answer João! I will make the 4in1 module also my internal module.

I will look into the right connections I have to make to the 9Xtreme board.

Maarten
Turnigy 9X - 9Xtreme board - M9 Gimbals - 4in1 Module
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

Hi, Im resurrecting this post with an issue.
I installed another multiprotocol module, this time is external, and is the irangex. https://www.banggood.com/IRangeX-IRX4-2 ... rehouse=CN I followed the Joao´s tutorials for flashing the bootloader with the STMicroelectronics flash loader, and then compiling with arduino for flashing with ersky9x... The thing is, it seems I cannot flash the external module with the radio. I think I am missing something... Maybe due to this module is different to the other internal I have, the tutorial does not match or something... Can somebody throw me some light?


I am using this app: Flash Multiprotocol Module - 9Xtreme Last updated 28-Aug-2018
and ersky9xProvR222d3

Thanks!

EDIT: I tried with the StmMultiBoot file, and still I cant flash the external irangex multiprotocol module. Could somebody upload the bootloader file I should use?
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

Check you are using COM1.
Try changing the invert COM port option.
Try holding the "Bind" button on the module pressed as you confirm the file to flash.

There is a "Update Multi" option in maintenance mode in ersky9x. Try using this, power on holding the two horizontal trims APART to enter "Maintenance mode".

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

Hi Mike, I tried with com 1 and 2 and does not work.
Also inverting and no inverting.
There is no bind button in the module. It comes with no usb, no bind button, no lights, and no rotary.

I entered in maintenance mode, and from there I am able to update thr internal mode too, but not the external...

So I think I flashed a wrong bootloader... Do you have any ideas?
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

Update: I installed the module internally, and I managed to flash it with the radio!

Not sure why it didnt work when external...
Is there any way to see the version flashed in the module?
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

Update 2: I tried connecting the modules several times, internal, external and all the combinations possible inverting telemetry, comms and so on...
I can flash both modules when connected inside, but no one of them when outside... But I think I know what is the problem, in the external module I have not connected the telemetry ports yet.

So I guess I have to connect pin 3 (power) or 4 (ground) and 5 (telemetry) of the external module to the FRSKY port in the 9xtreme. Is that correct? Please somebody guide me in the darkness, lol.

Thanks
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17979
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by MikeB »

Power and ground should already be connected, just the telemetry signal on pin 5 (bottom pin) needs adding.
See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=126&t=7771
for a couple of pictures showing how to connect the black wire from the 9Xtreme to the telemetry connection.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
Rad
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: Austria
Contact:

Re: Another two modules thread. 2.0

Post by Rad »

MikeB wrote: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:38 am Power and ground should already be connected, just the telemetry signal on pin 5 (bottom pin) needs adding.
See this thread: viewtopic.php?f=126&t=7771
for a couple of pictures showing how to connect the black wire from the 9Xtreme to the telemetry connection.

Mike
Hi Mike, one month later I quote you here. I did it and now it works perfectly and I managed to flash the module with the radio.
Again, thanks :)

It took me some time to answer because I could not test it until now.
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Mods”