Flashing TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware (CR10 3D Printer)

Any 3D printing projects
Post Reply
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Flashing TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware (CR10 3D Printer)

Post by bob195558 »

Flashing TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware

Note: Testing Firmware may contain bugs, so when trying any new testing firmware be aware that there may still be some bugs.
Report all bugs to the #beta-testing channel on TH3D Discord server: (https://discordapp.com/channels/4570819 ... 1476278313).
This is where Tim at TH3D is tracking all firmware bug issues.

1) Download Newest Testing Firmware: (https://www.th3dstudio.com/knowledge-ba ... -firmware/).
Sept 21, 2018 Update Note: Tim has removed the Testing Firmware, so use the TH3D Firmware release instead (U1.R2.1d).

2) Connect your PC with USB cable to CR10 Printer.

3) Unzip Testing firmware and open the "OpenFirmwareWindows" (Arduino IDE 1.8.5 Presetup program).

4) At the top left of the Presetup Arduino 1.8.5 program at the tab menu click the "Tools" tab and select:
"Board" / "Sanguino(1284P Boards)"
"Processor" / "ATmega1284 or ATmega1284P (16MHz)"
"Port:" / "COM_" (Select the proper USB COM Port for your CR10 Printer) My Port was COM3 your COM Port maybe different.
"Programmer" / "Arduino as ISP"

5) Next drop down to the next row of tabs and click the: "Configuration.h" tab.
Read and follow the instructions for your 3D Printer.
Here you will Uncomment to make the proper selections for the CR10 Printer.
Uncomment means removing the 2, // in front of the #define

6) I have installed several TH3D upgrades to my CR10 Printer, which are EZout, EZABL and EZPi-Octopi.
The Uncomment and/or Changes which I have made are in Green to help you to see my selections:
Next drop down to:
62: //================================================================
63: // Creality CR-10 Options - Select Sanguino(1284P) from Tools > Board
64: //================================================================
Uncomment the following lines:
65: #define CR10
72: #define EZOUT_ENABLE
77: #define CR10_OEM

7) Next drop down to:
290: //====================================================
291: // EZABL Advanced Settings
292: //====================================================
The following lines that I uncommented and/or made changes to are in green:
297: #define EZABL_POINTS 7
305: #define EZABL_PROBE_EDGE 20
313: #define BABYSTEP_OFFSET
316: #define PROBING_MOTORS_OFF
319: #define HEATERS_ON_DURING_PROBING

8) Next drop down to:
352: //====================================================
353: // TH3D EXTRAS
354: //====================================================
394: // MISC --------------------------------------------
399: // Use your own printer name
The following lines that I uncommented and/or made changes to are in green:
400: #define USER_PRINTER_NAME "TH3D Test4 CR10"
450: #define NEW_JERK_CONTROL
451: #define NEW_ACCELERATION_CONTROL

9) Next click the Checkmark (upper left-hand corner) to Compile Sketch (to verify no errors).
You may see something like this at the bottom when done compiling:
Sketch uses 126836 bytes (97%) of program storage space.
Maximum is 130048 bytes.
Global variables use 5128 bytes (31%) of dynamic memory,
leaving 11256 bytes for local variables.
Maximum is 16384 bytes.


10) Next click the Arrow (upper left-hand corner) to begin the Upload to the CR10 board.
This will do Compile Sketch again first before "Uploading".
When finished should see "Done uploading."

11) After Uploading is done be sure to reset your EEPROM back to its defaults.
You can send GCode "M502" to reset your EEPROM and then "M500" to Store setting (save all new settings).
If you need a GCode Sender program, go to the downloaded testing firmware package
and click on: "Extra Programs" / "GCode Sender" / "Pronterface".
Or you can go to the CR10 Control Box and select: "Control" / "Restore failsafe" (also this maybe labeled "Initialize EEPROM").
And then remember to: "Store setting".

12) Next run the P.I.D. Auto Tuning Hotend Temperature procedure,
see here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 15#p136360).
Remember to: "Store setting" after.

13) After this you will need to reset your Z-Offset setting using the BABYSTEP_OFFSET adjusting feature.
Go to: "Control" / "Motion" / "Probe Z Offset" / (screen for) "Probe Z Offset : _._ _ _"
Remember to save your new Z-Offset setting: "Store setting" when done.

Note: Some menu options did not show up until I shut down and restarted the CR10.
And there are some menu options that are missing because there is not enough flash space
on the CR10 Control Board for them, like Filament.

:)
Last edited by bob195558 on Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

TH3D Baby-Step feature works two ways (Updating CR10 3D Printer with TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware)

Post by bob195558 »

Some info about the TH3D Baby-Step feature.

TH3D Baby-Step feature works two ways.

First Way: Baby-Step only adjust with the job you are running
and does NOT auto sent the Baby-Step adjustment value to the Z-Offset.
You have to compute the Baby-Step value to the Z-Offset value
and then "Store settings" to save the new Z-Offset value.

Second Way: Uncomment "#define BABYSTEP_OFFSET" in the TH3D firmware.
This way auto computes the Baby-Step value to the Z-Offset value.
You still need to then "Store settings" to save the new Z-Offset value after.

This Second Way is the best way to use the Baby-Step / Z-Offset feature. :)
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Updating CR10 3D Printer with TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware

Post by bob195558 »

Problem when you have your Nozzle set to close to your Print-Bed Surface:

If your Z-Offset (Nozzle Gap Setting) set to close to the Print-Bed Surface,
the EZABL is not able to work properly.
The Z-Offset Setting is the lowest point that your Z-axis can travel downward.
So you want to set your Z-Offset Setting to the lowest point of your Print-Bed surface.
If you have your Z-Offset Setting set to low (close) to the Print-Bed, you will see it printing to
close to where the high points (places) are on your Print-Bed Surface
and the lowest points on your Print-Bed Surface will look more to have a proper printing gap.
The Z-Offset Setting only uses the EZABL data to adjust the Z-axis up and down,
but it can not make the Z-axis to travel below what your Z-Offset Setting is at.
So to fix this problem you need to raise your Z-Offset Setting up.

Some more info about setting your EZABL and Z-Offset:
The EZABL is set so that it runs higher up from the Z-Offset Setting
and what you set your Z-Offset to is for your Nozzle to Print-Bed Gap.
Set the EZABL Sensor to 2mm off from the Print-Bed surface
and then set it's sensitivity there (LED triggers at 2mm from print-surface).
The EZABL collects the flatness-data of the Print-Bed surface only.
When you set your Z-Offset Setting
(Nozzle to Print-Bed Gap with a piece of paper and you can set this manually),
set it to the lowest point of your Print-Bed Surface.
Do not set it to the highest point of your Print-Bed Surface,
because your Z-Offset Setting is the lowest the Z-axis can move downward.
If you set your Z-Offset Setting to low (close) to the Print-Bed the EZABL
will look like it is not working properly.
I recommend in the TH3D firmware to use the Baby-Step feature
(uncomment the #define BABYSTEP_OFFSET)
to fine-tune your Z-Offset Setting on-the-fly when printing the first layer.
When you have your Z-Offset Setting set correctly,
you then need to save these new setting by selecting "Store setting".
If you do not save your new Settings, the next printing job will return to the wrong (old) Z-Offset setting
and you will have a problem printing.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).
Mezoforta
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 11:26 am
Country: -

Re: Updating CR10 3D Printer with TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware

Post by Mezoforta »

bob195558 wrote: Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:09 pm Problem when you have your Nozzle set to close to your Print-Bed Surface:

If your Z-Offset (Nozzle Gap Setting) set to close to the Print-Bed Surface,
the EZABL is not able to work properly.
The Z-Offset Setting is the lowest point that your Z-axis can travel downward.
So you want to set your Z-Offset Setting to the lowest point of your Print-Bed surface.
If you have your Z-Offset Setting set to low (close) to the Print-Bed, you will see it printing to
close to where the high points (places) are on your Print-Bed Surface
and the lowest points on your Print-Bed Surface will look more to have a proper printing gap.
The Z-Offset Setting only uses the EZABL data to adjust the Z-axis up and down,
but it can not make the Z-axis to travel below what your Z-Offset Setting is at.
So to fix this problem you need to raise your Z-Offset Setting up.

Some more info about setting your EZABL and Z-Offset:
The EZABL is set so that it runs higher up from the Z-Offset Setting
and what you set your Z-Offset to is for your Nozzle to Print-Bed Gap.
Set the EZABL Sensor to 2mm off from the Print-Bed surface
and then set it's sensitivity there (LED triggers at 2mm from print-surface).
The EZABL collects the flatness-data of the Print-Bed surface only.
When you set your Z-Offset Setting
(Nozzle to Print-Bed Gap with a piece of paper and you can set this manually),
set it to the lowest point of your Print-Bed Surface.
Do not set it to the highest point of your Print-Bed Surface,
because your Z-Offset Setting is the lowest the Z-axis can move downward.
If you set your Z-Offset Setting to low (close) to the Print-Bed the EZABL
will look like it is not working properly.
I recommend in the TH3D firmware to use the Baby-Step feature
(uncomment the #define BABYSTEP_OFFSET)
to fine-tune your Z-Offset Setting on-the-fly when printing the first layer.
When you have your Z-Offset Setting set correctly,
you then need to save these new setting by selecting "Store setting".
If you do not save your new Settings, the next printing job will return to the wrong (old) Z-Offset setting
and you will have a problem printing.
Hey Bob would you happen to know why my z offset settings arent saving to my eeprom. I have a cr10 using an older ezable with the newest version of the TH3D firmware. I have been struggling with this for a bit and I'm so frustrated with it.
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Flashing TH3D_UFW_U1.R2.T4_Testing Firmware (CR10 3D Printer)

Post by bob195558 »

Hi Mezoforta,
Tim at TH3D has upgraded the firmware several time since Nov 01, 2018,
so Tim has changed where and how some of the functions work now.
With that said, I have upgraded my CR10's control board to the EZBoard Lite
which is a more powerful and uses different TH3D firmware.

I am not up to date with the changes in the TH3D firmware that is
for the stock control boards.

So if the older TH3d Stock Control Board's firmware has been change to be like the EZBoard Lite firmware,
then maybe there is no need to uncomment the #define BABYSTEP_OFFSET
as that may be a normal default setting now.

I believe when you have your Z-Offset setting set to where your first layer is working properly,
you then would go to where you save your new settings.
Which may be called "Store Settings" still.
And that should work, I believe.

This may be of no to little help, but this is what the EZBoard firmware looks like: https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopi ... 29&t=12568

Maybe if the firmware is not saving when "Store Settings" then maybe when flashing Control Board you got a bad flashing.
So you could try re-Flashing and see if that helps.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).

Post Reply

Return to “3D Printing”