Futaba transmitters and Multiswitch encoders

Support and help for the OpenLRS firmware.

Moderator: kha

PedroGomez

Futaba transmitters and Multiswitch encoders

Post by PedroGomez »

Hello guys:

It's my first post in your forum.

I’m a RC submarine Modeler, and my RC transmitter is an oldie Futaba FC-18 Campac.

This transmitter has a socket in the back, where the transmitter module is located. It allows the exchange of FM transmitters of 35, 40 or 70MHz, Frsky 2.4GHz and now Orange 433 MHz. I work in 35 MHz with my, this frequency allows me to receive 2.5 m deep in fresh water. In 2.4GHz with surface ships.
It is known that in 2.4GHz there is no reception under water, except dragging an antenna with a floating buoy.
I read in www.subcommittee.com , in a post writed by Tim Senecal, that the 433 MHz reception was about 1 meter. So I bought the transmitter module:
• Transmitter OrangeRX Open LRS 433 MHz 100mW (for Futaba)
• Receiver 9Ch 433MHz OrangeRx Open LRS
in Hobbiking.
The Futaba FC-18 transmiter has a special devices, called multiswitch encoders, and decoders which are connected to the receiver. This devices were designed to work in RC frecuencies, like 35,40 or 70 MHz. You can see the encoder in the transmitter, and the decoder, in pictures attached.

A few years ago I bought Hobbyking Frsky Tx Modules and Tx receivers, to work at 2.4 GHz. I could already see that with 2.4 GHz, the multiswitch encoder and decoder modules did not work.